Anime Roundup | February 2014

I forgot about anime!

What, who, where am I? Anime? What’s an anime?

Oh right, I used to write about anime on the blog, guess I should get back to that. Another month has passed and that means I should round up my thoughts yet again on this season of anime, the winter season of 2014. It’s been quite a month of varying quality.

Wonder-Momo-Returning-Game-AnimeWe had the bastardization of Wonder Momo arriving, which I dropped in three episodes after realizing that somehow the show made me care about the original Wonder Momo‘s 0.25% story content and somehow made me hate the new one rather than just being apathetic about it. This show was not just bad, it was boring and annoying at the same time. I don’t recommend it to anyone, fan of the original game or the magical girl genre.

Just stay away.

Another new show, also in the magical girl genre, is HappinessCharge PreCure!, a show I was reviewing in video before I started running into legal troubles with TOEI. Now, I did win the legal battle and the my video was restored, but I’d rather not try to toy with that again, at least not when I’m as small-time as I am now. It’s just poking the bear for no reason. But the new PreCure is a lot of fun and I’m liking it far more than DokiDoki! PreCure already, which is a show I’m not too fond of. I really should get on reviewing that show, but I still have the final episode to watch.

Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha managed to make it into the top and is now my favourite show of the year so far, with Sakura Trick following just two steps behind. Two other shows that I’ve fallen in love with more is Witch Craft Works and Tonari no Seki-kun: The Master of Killing Time, both of which are getting better by each episode. Lastly, Golden Time remains one of the best shows of the season and closes out my current top five list, it has fallen from grace ever so slightly in the last few weeks, but it’s still as golden as the name suggest.

vlc 2014-02-14 01-51-35-26A bunch of shows got dropped this month too. First one being Buddy Complex which just kept on being bland, boring and not worth my time. I finally decided to drop ImoCho as well, which was for the better as the show actively was pissing me off every week. Lastly, I dropped The Pilot’s Love Song and Nobunaga The Fool because they also just kept boring me far too much despite having good concepts in theory. A lot of shows were also put on hold, but mostly for future group watching reasons.

vlc 2014-02-12 04-14-25-20I’m still watching Engaged to the Unidentified and I can’t identify (no pun intended) why.

I sort of just ran through this post much like I ran through anime this month. I don’t have much to say on it, next month is the last month and it’ll all be more clear to me when I’ve seen these shows to the end. But wow, there has certainly been a lot of bad stuff this month.

Here’s to a better March!

Anime I Watched in February 2014 (Alphabetical Order):
Buddy Complex, Engaged to the Unidentified, Golden TimeHappinessCharge PreCure!, Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha, Nobunaga The Fool, Onee-chan Ga Kita, Recently, My Syster is Unusual, Saki: The Nationals, Sakura Trick, Space☆Dandy, Strange+, The Pilot’s Love Song, Tonari no Seki-kun: The Master of Killing Time, Wake Up, Girls!, Witch Craft Works, Wonder Momo.

Leave a Reply

