Who’s your waifu? | Valentine’s Week

I want to take them all home!!!

For some reason, one of the more common questions I would get over the months I’ve been writing about anime is “who is your anime waifu?”. I’m not sure why this is so interesting to people, but since it’s Valentine’s Day, what better time to talk about it?

My standard answer has always been that I don’t really have one or many characters that I obsess over in a way where I would call them something like that, most of the time when I have a character I really care a lot about it’s because of me finding some sort of personal relation to the character and can see myself in them in some way. It’s not really the same, but that’s my standard answer that I’ve been tossing around.

Let’s drop that answer for a bit, here are my top 3 biggest anime crushes. The character which I’ve fawned the most at over my years of watching anime, for one reason or another.

the-perfect-Yukino-sama-yukino-yukinoshita-35770527-1280-720Crush Number Three:
Yukino Yukinoshita (My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU)

First off we have lovely Yukino from My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU, my Anime of the Year 2013 and my upcoming cosplay for this summer. Yukino is very special to me for a variety of reasons, mainly the fact that she’s possibly the most interesting character I’ve ever seen in the romcom genre.

Yukino is a strong lady who is a master of concealing her true colours. Leading the Service Club who specializes in solving problems for the students of the school she ends up helping a lot of people which slowly but surely makes her open up and befriend others, such as Yui Yuigahama, another Service Club member. While she’s not my favourite character in the series, she is the one who ensnared me the most.

hr07Crush Number Two:
Rena Ryuugu (Higurashi no Naku Koro ni)

There are a few reasons why Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is one of my favourite franchises of all time, one of those reasons are Rena Ryuugu. Rena is a happy-go-lucky girl who loves cute things and playing games with her friends in Himanizawa. Though she has a dark past (and future), she manages to not feel like a one-note yandere character, which is good seeing as she has basically become the poster-girl for the archetype.

Though I’m not normally into yandere characters, I fell in love with Rena instantly when I first saw Higurashi no Naku Koro ni in the mid-2000s and to this date she keeps on being something truly special. So special that I have probably decided on her being the next cosplay outfit I make. I love you Rena, totally want to take you home.

OP2-Trace-Notes-k-on-16829691-1280-720Crush Number One:
Ritsu Tainaka (K-On!)

You knew it was coming. I just can’t get enough of Ritsu from K-On! no matter how many times I rewatch the show or read the manga. It’s one of the few anime birthdays I make sure to not miss and fully celebrate because of my big crush on her. She ticks basically every box for me. She’s a boyish girl with short hair, a headband, plays (good) music, has the most beautiful body-type and, of course, is half of my favourite lesbian couple of all time.

I love her sly but lazy laid-back attitude and how she (barely) rules of the Light Music Club as their president who can’t even get her papers filled in on time. Cute, funny and has great taste. Ritsu is forever my go-to anime crush, she’s my ideal anime girl and no one can touch her… I meant that in a top-list sense, but you should also keep your hands off my lovely Ritsu.

So those are mine, who is your anime waifu/husbando? It’s Valentine’s Day, let us know!

2 thoughts on “Who’s your waifu? | Valentine’s Week

  1. Noriko Takaya from Gunbuster. I love her resolution, her personality and passion, her screams of rage and her smile, which showed how much trust she would resort in humanity and in the efforts to save the earth.
    And I love how mankind surprised her ultimately.

  2. I have a lot of “mai husbandos”! The top one, though, is probably Ikuto Tsukiyomi and second to him is Kirigaya Kazuto. They are both sooooo awesome and hot! My god!

    Best,
    Makino Fujitaka ❤

Leave a Reply

