Three True Pairings | Valentine’s Week

ONE TRUE PAIRING X THREE!

We all cry out “OTP!” every week or so when we watch our favourite shows and subconsciously fan-fiction together characters that are clearly meant for each other. I do this all the time and I thought it was time for me to sit down and pick my absolute favourite pairings. One straight, one lesbian and one gay. Because there’s no way I could just pick one orientation, not a chance.

OTP1Straight OTP:
Mei Tachibana X Yamato Kurosawa (Say “I love you.”)

I sort of feel like I’m cheating on this one, since it’s an actual canon-established couple. But not only is it my favourite romance anime of all time, it was my anime of the year in 2012. I want to give it some recognition here in the week of love. Mei and Yamato from Say “I love you.” always felt to me like one of the most realistic and natural depictions of a teenage relationship. That’s probably why I like them so much together, because I can certainly see myself in them a lot.

Having shared a kiss as a means to save Mei from a stalker, Mei and Yamato slowly start dating. Mei having never had a boyfriend before finds it all very foreign to her where as Yamato is more used to it and paints up a great contrast as a result. They have their struggles, their fights and their great times together. But you never once feel as if Mei and Yamato don’t love each other, because it’s so perfectly captured in the writing, direction and overall presentation of the show.

This is not the last I will talk of Say “I love you.” this week, so deal with it.

OTP2Yuri OTP:
Ritsu Tainaka X Mio Akiyama (K-On!)

If you know me at all, you were probably expecting this one. Sure, I have many yuri pairings that I love, but in the end, none come down as strong as Ritsu and Mio from K-On! as they’re the cutest couple who have ever existed. Not only is Ritsu one of my all-time favourite girls of any show, but the way hers and Mio’s friendship is central to her personality and behaviour is adorable and cause some of the most emotional episodes of the entire series.

And it’s not like the author is unaware of their potential as a couple either, aside from the teasing done in the manga and the anime. The way Mugi, the yuri-googles queen, look upon them at many occasions makes it quite clear that something is indeed going on between these two lovely girls. We even had Mio and Ritsu acting out Romeo and Juliet together, how much clearer can one be?

We may never get the K-On College anime adaptation, so who knows if we’ll ever see more of Mio and her Juliet. But they’ll always be dear to me as the absolute best girl couple out there.

OTP3Yaoi OTP:
Kuroh Yatogami X Yashiro Isana (K)

Well, this pick was easy. There’s no other boy on boy couple of which I have a stupidly large folder filled with images like Kuro and Shiro from K. Once mortal enemies, Kuro eventually became Shiro’s loyal servant in the war of the kings. Without going into too much spoilers on what happened in the story, let’s just say that they get pretty damn close to each other. The show does not even try to hide the affection spreading between the two, we have scenes where Kuro and Shiro are basically acting like a married couple in the first three episodes.

They also fit so well together, despite being polar opposites in a lot of ways. There’s not much subtlety to their names where Kuro (Black) and Shiro (White) clearly represents the balance of two sides, yin and yang. Kuro and Shiro are made for each other and I would let nothing separate them until death would do them apart. Maybe not even then to be honest, I’m sure death wouldn’t stop the two of them from seeking each other out.

Holy shit, they’re so hot together.

So, what are your true pairings?

Leave a Reply

