Engaged to the Unidentified | Review: Episode 1

Engaged to the Uninteresting…

vlc 2014-01-09 22-09-46-42I really don’t get it. This episode is possibly an episode I have less to say about than episode one of The Pilot’s Love Song. Engaged to the Unidentified is a romanitc-comedy series where a girl finds herself living with a boy she’s suddenly engaged to and his sister.

It’s meant to be filled with fast-paced jokes, like any other 4koma adaptation, but throughout the entire episode I just sat there with a blank stare waiting to find anything funny.

At the same time I can’t say the show was outright boring either. If anything it felt like the show was really trying to be funny, and often getting close, only to mess up the punchlines or the execution in some other way. It’s a shame too, because it’s a show with a interesting art direction, good animation and neat character designs. I really was hoping that it’d be used for something I’d enjoy.

vlc 2014-01-09 22-13-11-40While I’m hoping that future episodes improve and end up having me laughing at at least something, this first episode was a dud that not even the amazing opening theme song, placed at the end of the first episode, could save. The opening sequence actually suggests a show that would be funnier too, as the tone seems completely different from what was presented within the actual episode.

vlc 2014-01-09 22-27-06-41Really wanted to love this show and I’ll admit that my initial hype might have made the disappointment hurt a bit more than it should have done, but so far that’s all that Engaged to the Unidentified is to me.

A disappointment.

Here’s hoping that they’ll get things right next week.

Engaged to the Unidentified
Episode Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

