Unbreakable Machine-Doll | Review: Ep. 3

Pointless Mystery

I’ve not been enjoying most of Unbreakable Machine-Doll so far. The first two episodes were boring, poorly animated and had characters that were annoying beyond belief. This episode has the very same issues, though not to the same degree for the most part.

vlc 2013-10-23 09-44-32-25The episode moves along with the stupidly named Cannibal Candy murder case where a person has been going around killing of automatons and stealing their hearts. The case is set up somewhat alright and the reveal of the killer is clever and well executed… at first. I won’t say who Cannibal Candy is, but for some reason as soon as the show had taken a entire episode’s time to set up who it is through a complex but logical reveal, the person in question just decides to come out and admit it to another person right after.

I don’t get this, if you’re writing a murder mystery story, why would you write it as a mystery only to make the entire mystery part pointless the very next scene? It’s very weird and just made it seem as if the writers didn’t care at all about what they were doing. With that said, the actual initial reveal was still really cool and I liked where it went with it. We also get to learn more about Yaya and her creator, a legendary automaton-maker.

vlc 2013-10-23 09-40-52-23The show still think it’s far funnier than it actually is. While this episode is lighter on humor than the previous episodes, the few jokes it tries to pull falls flat and just feels like the show is trying to hard. There’s a boob-size gag in this episode, which is a tired style of joke to begin with, that feels so formulaic in terms of writing, direction and voice acting that I wasn’t even sure if it was intentionally meant to be a funny scene at first.

vlc 2013-10-23 09-57-24-24The show is also ugly as sin. The art-style is decent enough, but the grey-toned outlines and the low-contrasts of which the show presents all its visuals in just makes it all blur together as a muddy mess that’s not very pleasing to look at.

The CG is outright terrible as well, though not close to the level of something like Tokyo Ravens in which it’s actually depressing to witness.

The third episode of Unbreakable Machine-Doll gave me enough enjoyment to keep it around for another week, but even that was a close call. This show is slowly walking the plank and I’m not sure I’ll bother saving it before it dips into the sea because it’s such a dull show. But we’ll see how it all ends up.

Episode Rating: 2/5 – Uninteresting Machine-Dull.

Series Available on Funimation
Funimation has Licensed the series for US Distribution
Please Support Licensed Anime

2 thoughts on “Unbreakable Machine-Doll | Review: Ep. 3

  1. I don’t know what’s the reason behind your hatred towards this anime but for me it was alright. You didn’t have to say all those stuff and I bet many viewers would agree with me. If you didn’t like it leave it at that and move on. The way you describe it so inappropriate and calling it a dull show is umm >.<

    • If you don’t know my reason, then how come you’re critiquing my review? My reasons are very much stated in the review which you’ve clearly read after all.

      If I didn’t say all those things I’d not be reviewing it honestly. My reviews are unfiltered opinions that I toss up online for all to see. People don’t need to agree with me, that’s not the purpose for my reviews, they’re there to show what I think.

      It’s not inappropriate, it’s a opinion. The show is (to me) dull, dumb and awful looking. So that’s what I’ll describe it as in my review. I’d even say this was one of my nicer negative ones, since I didn’t even drop the show as a result.

      And it’s fine if you don’t agree, that’s great, I welcome differing opinions everywhere. I’m the person who gave Kill la Kill a 1/5 review and called it disgusting, trust me, I don’t mind other people having different opinions from me. That’s all cool.

      But I will keep on reviewing shows the way I do it, honestly through my own opinion.

Leave a Reply

