Yowamushi Pedal | Review: Ep. 3

Riding my bike, I noticed, I noticed…

I’ve always enjoyed bicycling as a hobby. I’ve never been into it in any competitive or athletic sense, but when it comes to travelling I prefer walking or going by bike over any other method, even for long distances. As such, I can certainly relate to the main character of Yowapeda who every week bikes 90 km to and from Akihabara on his old mommy bike. Not that I would able to climb a hill like he does, he’s freakin’ superhuman for that.

vlc 2013-10-22 21-21-30-90The third episode mostly focuses on the rest of the race that was initiated in episode two. It’s intense and well-directed to the point where you’re never really sure just how it’s going to turn out.

Your brain wants to logically assume that Shunsuke is going to win, the dialogue and events throughout the race makes it very believable that Sakamichi would take the lead in the end. I won’t spoil how the race ends, but I am happy to say that I were not able to predict it with certainty thanks to how well directed it was.

The rest of the episode sets up the events that will most certainly be explored further in future episodes, Sakamichi and Shunsuke both gets some interesting development that I very much appreciated. The episode ends with the introduction of a new character that is obviously going to play a big part when it comes to influencing Sakamichi from here on out.

vlc 2013-10-22 21-19-10-87One thing I really appreciated about the writing this week was how it dealt with the technical aspects of bicycling. They’re constantly pointing out techniques and the various ways of how our two racers are dealing with climbing the hill as well as detailing more on how a bike itself work. While I wouldn’t say the show taught me anything I didn’t already know, it did make me happy to see how serious the show takes itself despite the silly premise of a stereotypical otaku racing a athlete.

vlc 2013-10-22 21-09-54-89The show did not focus a lot on humor or jokes this week, but didn’t suffer as a result, if anything it proved just how well written this show can really be. I’ve said before that this show is my favorite sports anime this season thus far, but this episode really hammered that in with how well-written the actual sports side to it all was.

It’s also nice to see a show where the CG is barely noticeable and really good looking.

I got a lot of enjoyment out of the third episode of Yowapeda and I hope you will as well. I’m surprised how well-made this show is and I can’t wait to see more from it.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – Keep On Rolling.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

2 thoughts on “Yowamushi Pedal | Review: Ep. 3

  1. While I haven’t seen Yowamushi Pedal, I’d recommend Over Drive judging from what you have written here. The start of it is terrible (bland directing and a whiny protagonist), but after a few episodes it becomes really neat. Especially since over half of the series focuses on a single bycicle race! Teamwork, background stories, intense moments… it got it all. Yes, it doesn’t pull it off perfectly, and can look rather cheap at times with repeating frames, but it made me want something similar.

    With that in mind, I should give Yowamushi a try soon.

  2. I felt that the anime and storyl ine is quite good but the problem is that main character Oonoda is kind of like portrayed lame. At some places he seems to be acting like a girl. Also the creators should not have laid out all the facts saying that oonoda has great talents. They could have made us wait a little and reveal things step by step.

Leave a Reply

