Catching Up! Short reviews from Week 42

Bring on the Drops!

This week was a mess and I’m sorry about that. I’ve been so behind on anime it’s been silly, so here are ultra-quick shorter-than-usual short reviews of all the stuff I fell back on so we can move into the next week fresh with REAL reviews. No review specific names this week either, because I’m running low on free time writing this and that’s usually where I get stuck for 10-15 minutes per show. HERE GOES!

vlc 2013-10-20 23-11-16-69White Album 2 – Episode 3

Like the weeks before, this show remains my favorite show of the season thus far. I’m in love with the characters and the way they interact with each other. Nothing new to add here except that I’m liking where the drama is going. Keep up the great stuff WA2!

Episode Rating: 5/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-20 08-58-31-61Log Horizon – Episode 3

This episode really emphasized how cool the combat can be and how great the trio works as a party. We’re seeing some introductions of the rest of the cast that is bound to be given deeper details next week and I can’t wait for it. Log Horizon‘s best episode to date.

Episode Rating: 5/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-18 19-04-13-84Kyousougiga – Episode 2

This show is glorious. No other show captures a silly fun mood as well as this show does. I urge everyone to watch this, no matter your preference, this is the easiest recommendation for a episode this season so far. It’s the kind of fun that everyone can enjoy while still retaining a genuinely interesting plot. Koto is an amazing character as well.

Episode Rating: 5/5

vlc 2013-10-20 23-34-12-04Golden Time – Episode 3

Twitter hates this show, I love it. But then again, I’m a sucker for romance stories. Episode three told us way more of our two leads’ back-stories than any prior episode. While there were some cliche stuff that I’d normally be annoyed to see, I thought it was handled really well.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll
Sentai Filmworks have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-20 23-55-39-42Samurai Flamenco – Episode 2

I’m in love with the main characters from this show. Their banter is amazing and the show is just the right amount of clever that it needs to be to tell a convincing story of a person who wants to be a hero. It also points out some very good things regarding human behavior in general.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-18 19-49-44-83Galilei Donna – Episode 2

Noitamiaa is strong this year. The second episode of Galilei Donna was described to me on twitter as being somewhat Dan Brown-esque, which I can see. Here’s the difference, Dan Brown can’t write and is awful, this show is great. The show still has that weird mix of historical heritage piece and conspiracy thriller that Brown enjoys a lot, but it doesn’t take itself serious enough to where it hurts the show.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-21 10-20-22-60Valvrave The Liberator – Episode 14

This is what Valvrave should be. This episode was probably my favorite episode of the series thus far, just spectacular in every way. Great action, great writing, great character developments and great direction overall. I’m also really excited to see where the next episode goes, because it looks very interesting.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series available on Crunchyroll
Aniplex USA have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-22 02-13-06-44Outbreak Company – Episode 3

This show proves yet again that it’s smarter than it gets credit for. It’s weird how a show about a dude and his elf-maid can manage to offer some genuine commentary and interesting spins on old concepts like this. I am eternally impressed with this show, way to go.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-22 02-43-11-59Meganebu! – Episode 3

This show is dumb. I’m sure I’ve said that every week, but it needs repetition. Meganebu! outdid itself in stupidity this week in the most glorious ways, but also manages to get some genuine good “drama” into the mix. The boys of the glasses club are just so charmingly entertaining it’s insane.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-20 08-16-19-49Little Busters! Refrain – Episode 3

The best episode of Little Busters! yet. This was amazingly well written and directed, genuinely sad and yet satisfying. I won’t say any more, just watch it.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-19 00-07-24-87Aikatsu! 2 – Episode 3

This episode can be summed up in three words: “What a coincidence!”. I’m really finding myself enjoying this over-the-top silly idol show. It scratches the same itch that Pretty Rhythm did, which is great. It’s just a lot of great fun all throughout.

Episode Rating: 4/5

vlc 2013-10-22 04-12-41-97Kuroko’s Basktetball 2 – Episode 3

This episode of Kuroko’s Basktetball had some great stuff in it. The actual sports sequence was intense and well-directed, and the characters all felt alive and energetic too. Great stuff. Hope they keep this pace up for future episodes.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-22 02-25-24-23Magi: The Kingdom of Magic – Episode 3

Another good episode of Magi even if it was not as good as last week. This episode was clearly a bridge to lead into bigger things, but worked well as such. The characters will be splitting up soon, so it’s nice to have one last fun blast with them before they do.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll
Aniplex USA have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-21 10-13-33-75Strike The Blood – Episode 3

This show got close to being genuine good this week, then it went bat-shit-insane again, which is just how I like this show so that’s great. Once again we got great action and a genuinely shocking scene at the end. Great stuff here, glad I’m watching it.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-20 08-04-00-33Pokémon XY – Episode 1 and 2

New contender! So I began watching Pokémon XY because I’m in a Pokémon mood. So far, it’s actually pretty decent. While it still have the problem of episode structure that the series has always had, the new side-characters are all very enjoyable and I’m liking the Kalos region and its Pokémon.

Episode 1 Rating: 3/5 – Episode 2 Rating: 4/5

vlc 2013-10-21 11-08-23-42Gingitsune: Messenger Fox of the Gods – Episode 3

This week Gingitsune grew on me more. The characters are very enjoyable, and while I didn’t care all that much for the middle of this episode, the episode won me over by the end. It really is a great little show when it lets itself be. Keep that up

Episode Rating: 4/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-18 18-43-19-80Coppelion – Episode 3

This episode was a slight step down for me. While I’m glad they are changing up the episode format a bit, there was not enough stuff to care about this week. The main characters aren’t fleshed out enough apart from the lead girl, it becomes all about her and the others feel like dead weight.

Episode Rating: 3/5

Series Available on Viz Media
Viz Media have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-21 20-56-38-70Walkure Romanze – Episode 3

This show is not very good, but I enjoyed myself with the latter half of this week’s episode. The actual jousting stuff was more entertaining than I had expected. It survives at least one more week.

Episode Rating: 3/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-21 09-42-28-19Ace of the Diamond – Episode 3

This was a show I was sure I was going to drop this week, but then it decided to introduce a great side-cast for some stupid reason and now I found myself enjoying the third episode… Oh well, you win this round show.

Episode Rating: 2/5

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-21 21-19-48-69Wanna Be The Strongest In The World – Episode 3

This show sucks. I was expecting a show themed around girls moaning from pain in the wrestling ring, sure, but I was at least hoping the show would do at least something interesting and pretend to care about the lead character and her development in any fashion. But no. It’s just terrible. Dropped.

Episode Rating: 1/5
Status Update: DROPPED

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-21 10-36-14-55Tokyo Ravens – Episode 2

Wow, this was terrible. I can’t really describe my problems without going into spoilers, but I just hated everything about this episode. Direction, visuals, characters, everything. It was garbage… But I have a three episode minimum. See you next week Tokyo Ravens.

Episode Rating: 1/5

Series Available on Funimation
Funimation has Licensed the series for US Distribution
Please Support Licensed Anime

vlc 2013-10-18 19-25-01-58Nagi no Asukara – Episode 3

Nope, this show did not get better. I can’t believe a show with this staff from this studio did something this terrible. You’ve got Mari Okada writing it who did True TearsThe Pet Girl of Sakurasou and work on Canvas 2. How could you write this crap? You’ve got Toshiya Shinohara directing it who directed RDG: Red Data Girl and did work on Higurashi: When They Cry – Kai. How could you direct this!? You’ve got Buriki, the character designer for freaking Haganai and these are the boring character designs we get? Everything about this show sucks beyond the quality of the visuals, which are just boring. P.A. Works, you’re my favorite studio. How could you? Dropped to the bottom of the ocean.

Episode Rating: 1/5
Status Update: DROPPED

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-20 09-42-38-94Kill La Kill – Episode 3

…Okay, listen. I will not bother writing up a spoiler free rant on this episode. I hated it for the same reasons I hated last week. I might do a full post on what I hate with this show in detail when it’s finished airing, but for now, just now that I absolutely hate it. And I don’t buy some of the metaphor crap that some of the fans are suggesting for a second.

Episode Rating: 1/5
Status Update: DROPPED

Series Available on Crunchyroll
Aniplex USA have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-20 08-42-25-81I Couldn’t Become The Hero So I Reluctantly Decided To Get A Job – Episode 3

Wow show, how did you manage to end up lower than my biggest disappointment this year AND a show that literally made me sad and disgusted? Amazing! This show is not the worst show I’ve seen this year, it’s not even the worst show I’ve seen this season. But it’s a show that has no idea what it’s doing with anything and just ends up icky and unfunny in every regard. Dropped.

Episode Rating: 1/5
Status Update: DROPPED

Series Available on Crunchyroll

Leave a Reply

