Golden Time | Review: Ep. 2

A Familiar Feeling

Golden Time is one of those shows I felt somewhat alone on this past week. Most people I had talked to agreed that the first episode was boring and that the show did not resonate much with them. As we got closer to the second episode more people had admitted to enjoying the show though and I’m happy to say that I’m still enjoying it as much as last week.

vlc 2013-10-11 06-48-43-76The second episode follows Tada as he worries about the fact that Kogo doesn’t seem to be making any friends at the university. With Mitsuo avoiding her and everyone else feeling like they belong to a different social status from her.

The show manages to really hit some strings about how lonely you can feel at a new school, a feeling that I can find myself relating to a lot. The events that occur during the episode also let’s us get to know some of the other students at school, like Linda from the Festival Club and Oka from the Film Club.

One of the larger scenes this week is a extended party scene where Tada is dragged in with the Tea Club to party with them. While I’m not going to mention exactly what happens, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a show nail how awkward it can feel to be at a party where you feel like you don’t belong. A lot of the stuff going on at the party are things I’ve seen myself and that have had me felt left out and weird as a result.

vlc 2013-10-11 06-45-52-75The writing is very strong this episode in particular, nailing the dialog between Tada and the other students. I feel that one of the reasons that people might be finding Golden Time boring is simply the fact that it’s done as a slow-paced and mature romance story, and that’s fine, I can understand why some people would find that a bore and not worth watching, but I personally love it.

vlc 2013-10-11 06-51-40-77J.C. Staff have done some great work on the animation. There’s a lot of details put into the character and they all have very unique and distinct looks to them. While it’s not really something that stands out among all the other gorgeous shows this season, it’s still worth mentioning just for all the effort put into making this show as beautiful as it is.

Well, that’s another episode done with. I’m still in love with Golden Time and I can’t wait for next Thursday so I can watch the third episode.

This show does so many things right that I feel genuine sadness that it’s overlooked.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – Still No Objections.

Series Available on Crunchyroll
Sentai Filmworks have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

Leave a Reply

