Coppelion | Review: Ep. 2

We’ve Found A Cure

vlc 2013-10-10 00-40-22-51I was worried this weekend. Because with both the first episode of Coppelion and Nagi no Asukara ending up as disappointments for me, I had this worry that my most anticipated shows would be shows that just ended up not being that good in the end.

Well… thankfully the second episode of Coppelion shows that it had more and better things to offer this week.

This episode was really good.

Picking up where last week left off, the girls follow the blood trail outside the building. As the episode moves along we learn that the group need to save a nine year old girl lost in the radioactive ruins of the old capital. It’s a good and effective set-up and the actual events that transpire plays with your expectations and mind a whole bunch. The characters introduced in the episode are interesting and offer some great emotional depth, which was lacking in the last episode. It’s a very good premise overall.

vlc 2013-10-10 00-45-04-51The action finally gets a chance to let loose a bit this week too, and it’s beautiful. The direction when Coppelion does action sequences is superb and really utilizes the style of the show well. My only complaint would be that it’s all limited to one character, Ibara. Now, that makes sense for this episode in particular, but I really hope we get to see Aoi and Taeko kick some ass as well.

vlc 2013-10-10 00-38-07-54Unfortunately, it does still suffer from wanting to do too much in too little time. While all the drama and writing in the episode was good, I felt it didn’t get enough time to build up to really have the effect they were going for.

What we ended up with was a strong episode in writing but a somewhat lackluster episode in pacing. Maybe it’d worked better as a two-parter or just with some slight restructuring, I’m not quite sure.

The visuals are great and a joy to look at, though I will admit that the thick outlines did get on my nerves this week. Mostly because of how inconsistent they are rather than how they look. I think they should have either gone with them there all the time or not at all. But maybe that’s just me. The colour-scheme and filters still work in the shows favor and delivers a great sense of atmosphere that few shows this season can match.

vlc 2013-10-10 00-35-01-52The soundtrack is still not really much to mention however, apart from the great opening and ending themes. I really do hope that I get more into the background music as the show moves along as I think it’d be a shame for a show with such great presentation to end up lacking on that front. But only time will tell at this point.

So Coppelion has proven to me that it can be good. It’s still not as good as I wanted it to be mind you, but this episode was thoroughly enjoyable and really well-made.

Pacing issues aside, this is a episode I’m happy to recommend.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – A Glimmer of Hope.

Series Available on Viz Media
Viz Media have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

Leave a Reply

