Catching Up! Short reviews from Week 40

A Rollercoaster of Quality and Content

Sickness sucks. I ended up falling ill last week and while I’m mostly fine now, I am still somewhat recovering from it. As such, I didn’t really get around to writing up episode-by-episode reviews of shows even though a whole batch of new shows started. So here are short 1 paragraph thoughts on each show, that should do. That way I don’t need to flood the site with many multiple posts in one day. It will ALL be spoiler free, of course.

I am listing the shows from favorite to least favorite, just to give you a sort-of APR stand-in for last week as well since I never made a post on that either. So here we go!

vlc 2013-10-06 14-34-39-31White Album 2 – Episode 1

White Album 2 is a stand-alone sequel to the VN/Anime White Album which I have not seen. It’s a romance story set in a college with a focus on music and musicianship. The first episode was very slow-paced, but in a way that I found very intriguing and interesting. I love myself a good romance story and White Album 2 is so far looking to deliver everything I could ask for. If we’re really lucky, this could be my Say “I Love You” of 2013.

Episode Rating: 5/5 – Dear Prudence.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-05 11-57-37-74Golden Time – Episode 1

This one has had a huge split from what I’ve seen so far, and that’s understandable. Golden Time is a romantic comedy set in a law school. It’s from the same writer as Toradora, which I’ve not seen but I heard good and sometimes awful things about, so maybe its a trait of the author to be divisive. As for this show, I really dug it. The jokes were great, the pacing was nice and the characters were all fun. The main character didn’t feel like a empty insert character and the concept of feeling alienated and out of place in a new city was delivered well. Thumbs up!

Episode Rating: 4/5 – No Objections.

Series Available on Crunchyroll
Sentai Filmworks have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-08 16-13-37-05Log Horizon – Episode 1

This reboot of Sword Art Online is pretty neat! … Alright, I’ll try to not make those jokes to much. Log Horizon is about a group of people playing the game Elder Tale only to find themselves waking up in a fantasy-esque Tokyo where they are now living inside the game as their characters. It does a lot of clever things with its first episode and brought on one of my first favorite character candidates this season with the ninja Akatsuki. It’s funny, doesn’t take itself too seriously and is looking to be a damn fine show.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – Don’t wanna log off.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-05 15-15-26-07Outbreak Company – Episode 1

Well, don’t I feel like a fool. This was one of the shows I thought looked like the absolute worst of the season when I was picking what I’d be watching. The premise screams garbage as it’s basically a show created just for fan service of various kinds. But the show managed to outdo itself with good humor and a surprisingly interesting take on a fantasy world and how modern day society and government could interact with it. Hats off to you Outbreak Company, I would have never expected it.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – A Break Out Performance.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-05 13-18-43-09Strike the Blood – Episode 1

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
Okay, sorry, I’m going to try and talk about this show. It’s a show about a vampire and a high school girl  and it’s ridiculously over the top. I walked in expecting a show on the level of Code:Breaker in how silly it was going to be and I did not walk out disappointed. Strike The Blood is knowingly stupid and does everything to be entertaining, if you can set aside your brain for stupid fun, you’re in for a good ride.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-07 18-35-04-19Aikatsu! 2 – Episode 1

I forget who recommended this show to me. I think it was Fencedude from Sea Slug, but I could be wrong. Basically, this is the show Pretty Rhythm would be if Pretty Rhythm was about idols and not child labor. It’s cute and silly fun with idols performing surprisingly detailed CG routines. I’ve not seen the fifty episodes of season one, but I am working on that, as a jumping on point I did find Aikatsu! 2 just fine however, if you have no other option.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – ❤ Seira!

vlc 2013-10-07 20-21-17-16Kuroko’s Basketball 2 – Episode 1

This is a show I decided to watch because the lovely Mira seemed so lonely watching it. Thankfully, I think I made a good choice in deciding to pick it up as it’s a really enjoyable show. I’m very new to sports shows as I’ve mentioned earlier on this blog, but show’s like Kuroko’s Basketball make me realize what’s so intriguing about them. The episode was mostly exposition to set up what will happen next episode, but that helped it work as a jumping on point.

Episode Rating: 4/5 – Welcome to the Jam.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-08 12-34-15-23Little Busters! Refrain – Episode 1

The first season of Little Busters felt like a bit of a waste to me, it didn’t balance humor well with drama and came off as a let-down to me. With that said, Regrain kicked off with a great first episode. The show seems to have finally come into its own and it definitely feels more like a “Key” show now, for better or worse. Shoutout to the new OP, “Boys be Smile”, as well. That song is pretty amazing. Keep it up!

Episode Rating: 3/5 – Close to a Homerun!

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-06 20-39-05-86Walkure Romanze – Episode 1

Similarly to Outbreak Company, this was a show I expected to be pretty bad. CG jousting? Really? However, the show was pretty fun for the first episode. Bad CG aside, the characters seem like they could be a joy to follow and while the show is filled with fan-service and stupid moments, it very much fit the tone and didn’t feel distracting. If you want a good sort-of-ecchi/harem show, this might be the one to go for this season.

Episode Rating: 3/5 – Pervert Horses.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-08 13-43-57-28Meganebu! – Episode 1

The main characters in this show doesn’t know what “X-Rays” are and they also have no clue what “inanimate objects” are. What I mean by that is that this show is not scientifically accurate, not that it should be, but it REALLY isn’t. It’s about five boys who all wear glasses for one reason or another and they want to invent special glasses with weird features because they go to a school that focuses on mechanical engineering and such. It’s silly as hell and it doesn’t even make the slightest bit of sense. Can you set that aside? Then maybe you can be Meganebu-hoo-boo-hoo too.

Episode Rating: 3/5 – Weird Science.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-06 21-03-25-48Gingitsune: Messenger Fox of the Gods – Episode 1

Another show I wasn’t all that sure about. I expected an alright and fairly safe slice-of-life-ish show with some supernatural fun. I got an alright and fairly safe slice-of-life-ish show with some supernatural fun. The first episode had some trouble mixing in the drama it wanted to present, but the jokes and characters made up for those flaws. A neat little show that I have a feeling will grow on me more and more as the episodes arrive.

Episode Rating: 3/5 – CG ORANGES!

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-08 12-59-16-94Magi: The Kingdom of Magic – Episode 1

Fans of Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic, heed my warning! If you want to watch the second season of the series, do skip the first minute and forty seconds of this episode. I have no idea what went on in the heads of the people putting this episode together, but they basically spoil everything this cour, if not entire season, is leading up to in that 1:40. Skip it, please skip it, you’ll have a better time for it. Because while this episode was good overall, knowing where everything ends up did ruin the pacing and set-up a whole lot. It’s a damn shame…

Episode Rating: 3/5 – SKIP TO 1:40! I’M SAYING IT AGAIN!

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-05 12-19-46-67Kill la Kill – Episode 1

I really wanted to like this show, and for a bit I did. I really did. Kill la Kill does a lot of things right. It has a distinct and memorable art-style, a cool directorial style and some great talent both in voice-work and animation. So why was this such a bore to watch? How can a show that only exists to be over-the-top fun be so boring? I don’t know, but it sure was. While the first half of the episode was alright as a set-up and I really liked most of the characters, the second half just showed how much the show relies on just being “weird” without substance. Maybe it’ll fix that in the next episode or maybe I will have to question what the hell people see in this show. Also, that Goku Uniform is stupid, that’s all I have to say on it for now.

Episode Rating: 2/5 – Waste of talent and skill.

Series Available on Crunchyroll
Aniplex UA have licensed the Full Series for US distribution.
Please support licensed anime!

vlc 2013-10-05 14-41-12-64I Couldn’t Become a Hero, so I Reluctantly Decided to Get a Job – Episode 1

Well, this show wasn’t that good. The concept is solid, it’s basically the same concept as The Devil is a Part-Timer, one of the funniest shows this year, except the jokes fall flat and all the animation talent has been put to animating boobs. Anyone who knows me also knows that I have no problem with a show wanting to be all about the tits and ass as long as it doesn’t come off as distracting and fit the tone of the show. Ecchi stuff for an ecchi show makes sense. So I hate to say that I did not feel that Yuushibu (the sensible name for this show, unlike the full name) managed to make it non-distracting or set the tone even slightly right. It’s cliches and old concepts just done sort-of poorly. It could turn around, but the first episode was crap.

Episode Rating: 2/5 – Boobs! When everything else fails.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-06 20-25-18-77Wanna Be The Strongest In The World – Episode 1

Well, at least here the ecchi and fan-service felt like it fit in. This show was garbage for a bunch of other reasons. While the stupid nature of the premise can be put aside as it fits the tone the show was going for, there was just nothing here of value. The animation was terrible and the corners cut art-wise at every possible opportunity was depressing to look at. There’s no love put into this show, it’s a cynical dead product that was thrown out to be gobbled up by people who wanted some boobs. They got their boobs, nothing else and it needs more than just boobs. …I talked a lot about boobs in this post.

Episode Rating: 2/5 – Requires more of The Ultimate Warrior.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-07 19-51-23-07Ace of the Diamond – Episode 1

What if Eren Jaeger from Attack on Titan switched worls like Arata in Arata: The Legend and ended up on Japan? What if he also really got into Baseball?There you have Ace of the Diamond. A show where a really emotionally distressed boy is yelling a lot at people because of baseball. It should be noted that I did not like Attack on Titan, though it was way better than this crap, and comparing the main character from this show to Eren is done as a way to show how terrible of a character he is. The art is also all over the place and the show is so over-dramatic it even stops being funny.

Episode Rating: 1/5 – Titans in the Outfield.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

vlc 2013-10-05 12-56-20-73Nagi no Asukara – Episode 1

WHY!? WHY P.A. WORKS!? WHYYY!?
I specifically praised you extra in my Fall 2013 post and I’ve mentioned how this along with two other shows are my most anticipated shows for the rest of the year. Why did YOU have to suck so much!? This show does so many things wrong it’s depressing. The characters are either non-existent or a pain to follow for various reasons. The art is AMAZING, but it’s all utilized for dull and life-less designs. How can you create a underwater utopia and make it look so boring? I don’t know what happened, but I hated watching this show more than anything else from last week that didn’t involve humanizing rapists.

Episode Rating: 1/5 – This Show should be Sleeping with the Fishes.

Series Available on Crunchyroll

And there you have my best-to-worst shows from last week. Now I’m going to take a break, get some food, and then tonight it’s back to doing proper episode-by-episode reviews starting with shows from Monday.

Leave a Reply

